Makeup

Lily Lolo

My first review is going to be of the products I use most for my day-to-day – Lily Lolo. They are a UK based company that makes mineral makeup of all types. According to their site they are 100% cruelty-free and BUAV certified. I tried to get a quote from them too but I guess they were busy.

Anyway, I arrived at the Lily Lolo website because I couldn’t find my products in Italy after moving here. My big problem is that I am allergic to many cosmetic products, so finding something that doesn’t irritate my eyes is very difficult and changing companies is hard, so I was pleased to find Lily Lolo.

If you’re not in the UK or US you can buy Lily Lolo online but don’t worry because most of the powders come in sample sizes that cost £1.49 so you can buy several samples before you decide which color suits you best, you’ll have to pay postage though.

The first thing you notice when you receive the product is the packaging – they have a wonderful clean aesthetic and the branding in general is so pretty to me! I came across their old branding on pinterest and I’m glad they made the change.

lilylolopackaging
Image taken from the Lily Lolo website

For my foundation I use Warm Honey. It’s a light powder that gives excellent coverage, holds on for a whole day, and during the summer it feels much lighter than liquid makeup. I use it with the Kabuki brush which works best. The full 10gr cost £13.49 and they lasted me for around 8 months – and I wear makeup practically everyday, so great value for money (so important for poor students).

lilylolo foundation
Warm Honey and Kabuki Brush

Same goes for the concealer – I mistakenly bought nude which turned out to be a little bit too light but I just mix it with some foundation and it’s fine.

Next is Peepo, or as I like to call it – magic. Peepo is a yellowish powder meant to contradict dark under-eye circles. I was a bit skeptical at first because I had never used a corrector before, but from the moment you put it on you look pretty good (even if the dog did decide to wake you up at 4 a.m. for some mysterious reason). To round out the effect dab on some concealer. I’ve found that this process gets rid of that ashy look you sometimes get when only wearing concealer.

peepo concealer 2
Concealer in Nude, Peepo and Concealer Brush

And seeing as we’re in the season and Christmas is around the corner (or Hanukkah for us Jews) – they also have basic starter kits that can be a very cute little something to give on the holidays. They contain samples for 3 types of foundation, one finishing powder and a baby buki brush.

So those are my thoughts, let me know if you’ve ever tried Lily Lolo and what you liked/disliked about it.

(site link: www.lilylolo.co.uk)

Follow me: Facebook // Instagram // Twitter // Bloglovin’

One thought on “Lily Lolo

Leave a Reply

